Law x Christianity

I remember having a conversation with law school friends over lunch about law and Christianity and whether you can be a good Christian and a good lawyer. It’s been something that has been on my mind recently too with all the Legal Theory discussion about law and morality and whether these two concepts are inseparable.

This was something that kind of came up during yesterday’s guest lecture on ethics. The speaker said that ultimately as lawyers, we pledge out allegiance to the Supreme Court and not to the firm or our/ our client’s interest which really resonated with me. It also reminded me of a theme that has been running through the church devotion (which is really amazing, kudos to Ps David Chan) and through the sermons lately. That as Christians, ultimately, we pledge out allegiance to God. It was also something that I was reminded of when I attend Prof Thio’s bible study on the book of Malachi, which really blessed me tremendously. She challenged us to put all our eggs in God’s basket which reminds me of what Ps Gary used to say all the time, that it is “all for Jesus or nothing”.

I was listening to the Hillsong I Heart Revolution album the other day and this really helped to reconcile law and Christianity for me:

“Worship and the pursuit of justice actually have to work together for them to have integrity, and one should not be done, and cannot be done healthfully unless the other one is side by side”.

I realised, much to the delight of my conscience (yes, I actually have one!) that being a good lawyer is not mutually exclusive with being a good Christian. Not that I have to worry about this anytime soon since I am still only in my first year of law school and I’m getting very average and mediocre (or worse grades), with only a few glimpses of As, which are really by God’s grace. So I guess being a lawyer is still a relatively distant dream. But it’s nice to know that I can practice what I enjoy without compromising on my beliefs :>

At the end of the day, it all boils down to knowing what I stand for and what I believe in. As the saying goes, “If you stand for nothing, you will fall for anything.”

tumblr_mi679jk1qE1r87e7oo1_500

Leave a Reply

