Limelight, 2 years on

On Monday earlier on this week, I watched my baby sister perform at Limelight, the SCGS band concert at the Esplanade. It is significant because she is the graduating batch this year and this would be her last band concert. Two years ago, this time, I was a proud older sister, watching my baby sister perform for the first time at Limelight 2011 at the Esplanade. I can’t believe how she is already 16 and it’s her last year in SC. She is still like a baby girl to me. I guess in my head, she is forever going to be the 1 year old girl that ran up to me when I came home from school one day and made me so happy by hugging me. But my joy was short lived when she bit my stomach HAHAH we still laugh about it till this day. I love my baby girl :’)

After the concert, on the way home, I started thinking about all the things that I’d been trying to forget whilst at Esplanade – the way Esplanade used to be one of our (I wish there was a past tense for ‘our’) favourite places or how two years ago this time, we attended Janelle’s band concert together. It’s funny how things change so much in 2 years. It does not help too that I learnt things that I wish I had known last year instead and I’ve been wondering if that would have changed anything.

Two years ago, I went for Janelle’s band concert and sat between my two favourite men in the world – my daddy and T. I still remember how after the band concert, I made the two of them take a photo together and it was one of my favourite photos but it is lost forever after my old Acer died on me. But just as well, I guess. And Esplande is just too another place and everything else is just a memory that I am thankful for.

My dentist once told me that letting go is like pulling a tooth. When it was pulled out, you’re relieved, but how many times does your tongue run itself over the spot where the tooth once was? Probably a hundred times a day. Just because it wasn’t hurting you doesn’t mean you didn’t notice it. It leaves a gap and sometimes you see yourself missing it terribly. It’s going to take a while, but it takes time. Should you have kept the tooth? No, because it was causing you so much pain. Therefore, move on and let go.

I love Tumblr, I found this on Tumblr and it’s hilarious. One comment said “#thatsafuckingdeepdentistvisit” HAHAH but it is so true. And one thing I learnt today, don’t put a question mark where God has put a full stop. Yes, there are questions and I think there will always be questions but it’s a journey to learn how to trust God above all these questions and to trust that He knows what He is doing in my life.

Okay so introspective and emo moment is over. This post is not about T, it’s about my sister and her band concert. :’)

It was the first time I saw my sister dance in public (maybe for the last time too) so it was very precious! Close friends would know that my sister is very quiet and reserved and it really is a big step for her – not only to perform in public for band but also to dance in public. I felt like a proud mama watching her perform 🙂 She has one of the kindest hearts. Even though it was her last performance, she didn’t get to play the swan song because a senior who used to use the clarinet that she was using only wanted to use that one and she had to give it up. (R U KIDDING ME) I honestly felt so angry at that senior for her lack of EQ and understanding – I mean she was in that position a few years ago and she of all people should know that if you were playing for the last time with your batch mates and as the SC band then obviously it would mean a lot to you. But my baby just gave it up because she is nice like that. And I wished that I could have stood up for her and said NO for her. But it was alright, she still performed to her best in the other items that night and that was more than enough 🙂

428736_10151606062231119_394508273_n

She cooked dinner for me the other night while I was busy preparing for my moots + Legal Theory test + Debate. We really have come a long way from the two of us in the photo, 15 years ago!  But it will forever and ever be us against the world xxx

Leave a Reply

