hey now, hey now, iko iko an nay

I have been keeping too many late nights so my body decided to protest and crashed on me today. In the end I had to skip prawning with the chum chums and dinner with the churchies. I was so bummed about prawning because it was supposed to be my virginal prawning experience but I couldn’t go in the end so I’m still a prawning virgin 😦 I ended up staying in bed crocheting and watching Greys the whole day.
I have been working on crocheting lace for my mother’s dress. And it is crazy because it is for the rim of her dress. It has been 2 days since I’ve started and I’m pretty sure that I have made over a thousand stitches and chains but I still see very little progress 😦 I like it though, crocheting. I can imagine a life of just crocheting sweaters and cute stuff for my grandchildren. Only that I don’t have grandchildren. Or children for that matter. Nic says I should get a rocking chair because it suits my whole gramma mojo thing.
I’m turning 20 this year and as excited as I am, it scares me. Excited because I’m one year closer to 21. I remember how last year I kept thinking that I was 21 because there were a lot of 21sts and also because the boys my batch were actually 21. I love 21- the number, because it’s my birthdate and also because of what it symbolizes. Adulthood, coming of age, yada yada. But at the same time the idea of all that responsibility scares me.
Sometimes I wish I could just fast forward life and get to the part where I have earned enough money to be happily retired with grandkids (or just bunnies) and I can crochet my life away. But then again, I want to experience life and all that it has in store for me too. I want to fight my toughest battles in court and to have victories to remember. I want to go through a mid life crisis and come out more sure of who I am. (Although I think I am going through a quarter life crisis because watching Greys makes me think about whether I should have taken medicine instead then I can have a McDreamy of my own HAHAH. But frivolous things aside, I really was thinking about whether law will give me a job satisfaction that I know medicine can offer. I mean the satisfaction of saving someone’s life vs moral dilemmas about the cases that we have to deal with?)

Anyway for now, I will just focus on getting my more than a thousand stitches double crochet lace ready for my mum to use on her dress and the other exciting crochet projects in line 🙂

Here’s what my work desk looks like: with an incomplete project from eons ago + all my crochet stuff 🙂 Will upload progress photos when I get there 🙂

vsco_0-1

Leave a Reply

