“love and compassion are necessities”

I know I have been password protecting a few posts lately but I have no dirty secrets to hide. I just don’t want everyone on the internet to be able to read certain things that are more personal. But you can just WA or text me for the password πŸ™‚ Unless it is about your or something then I wont give it to you.

I have finally ended my two weeks of attachment at the PBSO and honestly, it is hands down the best internship I have done so far and probably the most meaningful two weeks of my life.

It gave me more insights into the kind of person/ lawyer I want to be. And it provided me with heaps of opportunities to learn, to make mistakes and most importantly, to be able to help people that are in need through practical ways. I have a lot of things to say about the attachment but it’s too much to type in a post so I’ll tell it to all my friends in person. I think it will be the only thing that I can talk about for a while. So dear friends, please bear with me.

This is a video about how pro bono has helped to change the lives of a few people. I was really touched by the stories. More than just sappy, sad stories about how pro bono has changed their lives though, I think behind this video is the fact that we all have the ability to use what we have to help people that might not have had the same opportunities that we did. I had the opportunity to meet Josephus during my attachment and he is an amazing person with a big heart and with such passion and commitment to pro bono work. He is truly an inspiration to me.

This is one of my favourite Martin Luther King, Jr quotes:

“An individual has not started living until he can rise above the narrow confines of his individualistic concerns to the broader concerns of all humanity.”

And I think it encapsulates what I hope to be able to do with my life. To let it really be more than just about me and climbing the ranks at work or in school, but using this life and what I have to do something for people that are in need. To do what, that I still don’t know yet. But I’m on my way to figuring that out.

Leave a Reply

