the xx

I saved this in my drafts because I never got around to finishing it up before I left for CYAN BTW and now after a crazy second day at school (and a crazy soccer training session haha) I’m just procrastinating on doing any sort of revision by blogging.

I’m supposed to be doing editorial work for a legal journal that I’m working on right now but after almost 3 months of summer break, my brain is still warming up and I got lost in the introduction so here I am, taking a break! Β  Obviously I have finished the editorial work that I was procrastinating on the last time because the deadline was ages ago. But my brain is still warming up to the idea of school. It’s only been two days in school so far and the lectures have been pretty interesting and I’m really excited for year 2 πŸ™‚ BUT I still have no textbooks, ha ha ha. And I think after my first ever soccer training (for IFG), my brain has been a bit damaged by all the header practices. It was hilarious because I was practicing headers when suddenly one hit me in the face and I thought I was okay until my nose started to bleed. LOL, cue to hashtag #theadventuresofyongjoelle. But YOLO.

Celebrated (for lack of a better word, but I miss work!!) the end of attachment with my girls at the xx which was amazing! Although I was really tired because I’d stayed up till 4am trying to bake for the people in the office the night before. I even managed to complete my macaron shells only to have my caramel burn so I didn’t have fillings and I ended up not giving out my macarons. Right now, I have about 20 odd macaron shells sitting in my fridge waiting for some filling lovin’.

But the xx was still great! I was a bit bummed about the opening act though but I’m glad I went for the concert anyway. Trippy lights x trippy music x great company makes for a great night!

Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

I know the photos are not of the best quality and I didn’t exactly have the best seats in the house either. But it was great! I can’t put into words what I felt when the introduction to all my favourite the xx songs started playing and when I started to get goosebumps. It was just pretty darn amazing and trippy seems to be the perfect word to describe the set, the lights and everything. Not shameless publicity but I uploaded some videos on instagram (hehe my first few attempts at instagram video) or actually just ask me if you’re keen because I have some of my favourite songs on video :’)

The concert made me a bit more contemplative because the xx’s songs are generally sad right and there are certain the xx songs that are my ‘T songs’ because it speaks a lot about what I feel about everything that happened with T. But I had a good talk with my friends on the way back and all is good!

One of the saddest the xx songs/ my T songs but also the one with the most feels :’)

I saw you again, it felt like we had never met
It’s like the sun set in your eyes and never wanted to rise
And what have you done with the one I love?
When I look into your eyes, I see no surprise

I always thought it was sad
The way we act like strangers
After all that we had
We act like we had never met

I’ll do a proper post on CYAN BTW (which was amazing) soon and an update on how back to school life has been as soon as I get a breather. The week ahead looks pretty intense with quite a lot of things coming up + COLOUR RUN THIS WEEKEND! I’m really pretty stoked! I have been getting myself involved in all sorts of crazy ass stuff (like soccer, colour run, and I am captaining canoe polo for IFG WHICH IS A JOKE HAHAH, race the dead, etc) and life looks pretty exciting :>

Leave a Reply

