HEYHEYHEYHEY

I had the most awfully long day yesterday (Tuesday) which consisted of property law lecture, rushing off to KRC for canoe polo training, then rushing back for company law seminar which ended at 8.30pm AND THEN being whisked off to BBDC for driving lesson. I finally reached home at around 1130pm and I was more than thankful to be back. I think the crazy day before resulted in me sleeping through 5 alarms this morning. (Okay, no excuse for being a sleepyhead but I was reaaaaallly exhausted). So I ended up jumping (legit) out of bed at the time that I should have left the house for property tutorial. I had half an hour to travel but peak hour traffic + a cab driver who traveled by a route that was 2x the distance of the conventional route left me 5 minutes late for class. UGH. It didn’t help too that I clicked on a Facebook link (thinking that it was an article) mid way through the tutorial and all of a sudden “HEY HEY HEY HEY” starts playing and I wanted to dig a hole in the floor of the seminar room to hide my face. No, it wasn’t a link to Miley Cyrus’ VMAs act. But Blurred Lines is officially my song of shame.

But in all the embarrassing moments and in all the tiredness, I am truly very thankful for the angels in my life. It is in the small things that they do or say and they don’t even realise it but it really makes my day 🙂

Case in point, yesterday, a cleaner that walked by me stopped to tell me that I have beautiful hair which made me very happy. I told her that it was a bit too long and she said “NO! Don’t cut it if not it won’t be nice anymore.” Hahaha. It’s so frivolous but it did make me a bit happier to know that someone likes my hair. And I really have been thinking of chopping it off so now I am in a bit of a dilemma.

And I received an unexpected encouragement tonight that told me that for all the moments I think I am not good enough to be where I am, it is ultimately God’s plan for me and I am not in law school by accident. Okay, so I paraphrased it and my phone is charging right now so I can’t check the whatsapp, but I think this is basically the gist of what he said. So thank you very much 🙂 It was much needed.

Also, I am very thankful for the people in my life at this moment. I have been feeling very fulfilled and blessed by and with all my relationships. Family, obviously is one thing that I am thankful for because my family has been a constant in my life (although maybe not by choice ha ha ha). I thank God for the new mentor that He has placed in my life who has been guiding me and processing things with me + being an inspiration. I thank God for my Momentum girls that I have been blessed with and I feel that I am learning more from them than I have actually imparted to them. I thank God for CG – CGL who has to read my walls of texts sometimes. I thank God for ‘acquaintances turned friends’ and I really thank God for drawing us closer and providing us with opportunities to talk. I thank God for friends that I have not seen in awhile but that have been making an effort via whatsapp or texts.

I am not the best friend in the world. I am terrible at keeping in touch with people. Very often, I am afraid of taking the first step and I usually try to think and hopefully send thought waves to my friends. But I have been trying, this year, to really step out of my comfort zone and be the first to reach out to people. My friendships are very important to me – whether we were close at some point in time but are not close now, whether we are tight like Meredith and Christina, I am thankful for you and if we are not talking now but were tight, I probably actually do miss you – so if I don’t reach out, it doesn’t mean that I don’t care about the friendship. It just means that I am still working at being a (good) friend and I haven’t figured out just how to yet. And maybe I could use some help haha.

Okay, sappy moment over. I don’t know what induced that but I just felt like it was a necessary thing to type. Anyway, here’s to life, with all the weird and the wonderful.

Image

I think at this moment, it would be apt to include my song of shame. I wanted to post the video of Miley Cyrus twerking. But believe or not, I have not watched it yet so I don’t want to make you do something that I myself would not do.

P.S. If you’re in the middle of a lecture/ a tutorial, please mute your computer first. I don’t want this to become your song of shame too! x

Leave a Reply

