You make beautiful things out of dust/ out of us

I’ve realised that with age and experience, you still never get better at certain things – like saying the right things to someone to make them feel better in the most unfortunate of circumstances. At almost 20 now, having experienced death in the family, my fair share of minor heartbreaks and beyond absolutely destroyed by a breakup and finally getting back on my feet, I still find that I don’t have the right words. I still don’t know what to say when someone tells me that they just lost someone to Death and I still don’t know what to say when my friend is going through a break up.

Sometimes I wish there was a textbook method or formula of Things To Say To Make Someone Feel Better. I wish there were words that I can say to make the pain go away.

But there simply isn’t.

A “it will be okay” is the truth because ultimately, it will be okay and even though it may feel like their heart has been ripped out of their chest or they feel like they have lost hope in humanity or that they just cannot make sense of what had happened, it will really be okay in the end. Because such is life. All these, is just a part of life – we move on and we will be okay at the end of it. But “it will be okay” also sounds lame. It will not make them feel better, it will not make the pain go away and even knowing that they will get through this will not stop them from feeling like crap.

I have a side of me that wants to fight battles, especially for the people I love. If I could I would fight all your battles for you/ with you so that you don’t have to fight it alone but some battles, as I’m learning now, people have to fight on their own. But more importantly, I found this verse earlier on in the week and it has been something I’ve been clinging on to.

29 Then I said to you, “Do not be terrified; do not be afraid of them. 30 The Lord your God, who is going before you, will fight for you, as he did for you in Egypt, before your very eyes, 31 and in the wilderness. There you saw how the Lord your God carried you, as a father carries his son, all the way you went until you reached this place.”
Deuteronomy 1:29-31

I’ve learnt / am learning to release my battles and the people I love to God with the knowledge that He will fight for them and He will keep them safe.

To my lovely friends who are going through rough patches right now, I can’t promise to say the right things to make you feel better. I can’t promise to give you words of wisdom that will inspire hope and good vibes. But I can promise to be there – with my ears to listen and a shoulder to cry on and lots and lots of hugs and love for you. I love you very much ❤ xxx

You make beautiful things out of the dust 

You make beautiful things out of us 

You make me new, You are making me new 

One thought on “You make beautiful things out of dust/ out of us

  1. Pingback: 220913 | ofseasandstars

Leave a Reply

