Sometimes, loving is letting go

The person that I’m closest to right now is probably leaving to study abroad next year and is don’t quite know how to feel about it all. It’s only 90% confirmed, but it’s already making me cry.

I’ve had many good friends leave and over the years (migrating, going abroad to study, etc) and I’ve mastered the art of not crying at airports anymore. I still remember when my best friend from Czech Republic was going back for good, I refused to go to the airport because I didn’t want to have to say goodbye. And finally, I decided to go down anyways. But by the time we got there, she’d already left and I’d cried the whole way home.

Since then, I’ve gotten better at saying goodbye. (Or so I would like to think)
But I really don’t know how to do it this time.

Sometimes, loving is letting go I have been telling myself this since I got the news. Maybe the more I say it, the more it’ll be true. This is for the best. And as much as I am feeling bittersweet, I am truly excited for everything that the future holds for you.

Leave a Reply

