Wanderlust (wonderlast)

Goodbye, holidays. We had a good thing going on but all good things come to an end. It was good while it lasted.

Ended off the holidays by going for a cruise with the family and I am once again reminded of how blessed I am. We just got back from Japan and Shanghai not too long ago and I had VCF camp. So after being back for a week we were jet setting cruising off again and it is truly a luxury because for the first time we have the luxury of time, without anyone having to rush back to school or work in the first week of Jan. I really am v thankful for the folks who have worked hard to give me everything I need and who even try to meet my (many) frivolous wants. (The unicycle lying under my bed collecting dust now would be a case in point.)

The cruise was just all eating (I swear I packed on the pounds with all the eating) and sleeping. Of course the cruise had activities but I have terrible food coma and I really KOed almost after each meal. Although I made it a point to use to ice skating rink on board. I’d actually packed my skates but they confiscated it at customs so I had to use the skates there. But anyway they banned any jumps or “tricks” and skating backwards so I basically just went around the rink for half an hour.

I am just most thankful for time spent with the family even if we didn’t not do all the activities on board. I spent time with my sister and that is very precious because we still are not sure about whether she will be staying or leaving. (Yes the post about someone dearest to me leaving Singapore was about her) so it was time well spent.
Also, I read a lot this trip. We read 4 books over the trip – 3 Agatha Christie and 1 Stephen King. I have come to a conclusion that I cannot really read about crime or thriller because for a few consecutive nights I had dreams of someone trying to kill me. Not cool at all.

And now I am lying in bed, missing having people serve me food at dinner and leaving with my room in a mess but coming back to find my bed made and a lovely elephant and an orangutan made out of towels waiting in surprise. The staff on the Royal Caribbean Cruise were amazing – the waiters remembered our favourite drinks and when we went back the following night, the drinks were placed on the table, waiting for us. And everything about the people on board is just lovely :”)
20140113-014513.jpg

It’s 133 am now and I’ll be back in school in less than an hour’s time. Also, O level results are out tomorrow and I will definitely be going with my sister to collect her results! I am not the one collecting my results but I still remember how it felt to get mine. The anticipation kills – I know I cried even before I received my IB results because the wait was killing me. O levels seem too distant a memory but I do remember crying for half an hour because I’d read my results wrongly so it thought I’d gotten nine points and I was quite disappointed. Hahah it’s all so silly in retrospect. And tomorrow is also the first day of school for year 2 sem 2 so it’s kind of a big day.

I am excited to get back to school, in a weird, morbid way. I still have the “first day of school” excitement every sem. But at the same time, I left bits of my heart in Japan (shanghai not so, maybe at the XLB shop lol) and on the cruise. And I have yet to get the bit I left in the states last year back. The curse of wanderlust :”(

I didn’t take much photos of the cruise or with the family but here is one that is very apt for this wanderlust related poem that describes how I feel very accurately.

20140113-014420.jpg

There’s a race of men that don’t fit in,
A race that can’t sit still;
So they break the hearts of kith and kin, And they roam the world at will.
They range the field and rove the flood,
And they climb the mountain’s crest; Their’s is the curse of the gypsy blood,
And they don’t know how to rest.

Leave a Reply

