never love a wild thing

“I love you
in waves,
and lately it has been a hurricane.”Β 

i read this transcript from Breakfast at Tiffany’s recently:

Paul Varjak: I love you.
Holly Golightly: So what.
Paul Varjak: So what? So plenty! I love you, you belong to me!
Holly Golightly: [tearfully] No. People don’t belong to people.
Paul Varjak: Of course they do!
Holly Golightly: I’ll never let ANYBODY put me in a cage.
Paul Varjak: I don’t want to put you in a cage, I want to love you!

and all I could think about was how gid once told me “You know jo, you love too much”. that, i struggled with because how can love ever be too much?

“‘Never love a wild thing, Mr. Bell,’ Holly advised him. ‘That was Doc’s mistake. He was always lugging home wild things. A hawk with a hurt wing. One time it was a full-grown bobcat with a broken leg. But you can’t give your heart to a wild thing: the more you do, the stronger they get. Until they’re strong enough to run into the woods. Or fly into a tree. Then a taller tree. Then the sky. That’s how you’ll end up, Mr. Bell. If you let yourself love a wild thing. You’ll end up looking at the sky.'”

in waves, i keep giving and giving into the vacuum that is you. i don’t have to, but i still do anyway and i don’t quite know how to stop.

Leave a Reply

