Stateland x La Marelle

Went adventuring at the Bali Lane/ Haji Lane area with Liting at the start of last week. It was a very last minute decision because we initially planned to go to Wimbly Lu for waffles but at 12pm, we realised that Wimbly Lu was closed on Mondays. It has happened to me so many times (cafes closing on Mondays) but I never learned my lesson… BUT I HAVE LEARNT MY LESSON NOW. So in about 15 minutes, we googled for cafes that were open on Mondays and initially decided on La Marelle and the only reason why I wanted to go there was because it looked so quirky and pretty in pictures! But Liting was craving waffles so we decided to go to Stateland and they were all magically in the same area and ta-dah we went to both in the end!

Liting arrived first and she sent me photos of Stateland, which looked lovely. And she kept telling me that the place smelled amazing haha she is adorable ❀

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Photo credits for the photos above to Liting! Stateland is v lovely – I love all things wood and rustic looking πŸ™‚

We decided to order a S’mores Waffle to share and it disappeared very quickly. The marshmallows x digestive biscuitsΒ x Belguim chocolate ice cream x waffle combination was great. The waffle was v chewy and Liting said that there were marshmallows inside??? Possibly! It was goooood :> I just wish that we had ordered one more scoop of ice cream to go with it, it would have been absolutely perfect that way. I will definitely go back to try the other waffles (Red Velvet Waffle anyone??) and the mains too.

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 12.30.51 AM

Also plus points not for the cafe but for the Haji Lane area as a whole because there were TWO vespas spotted along the way to our next destination. I have this fascination with Vespas and it is the only reason why I wanted to learn how to ride. They are such adorable things! I was too busy snapchatting the Vespas that I forgot to take a photo of it for keeps. Here is my dream Vespa though, what a beauty. (Photo credits to Polyvore)

Image

Then we headedΒ to La Marelle mainly for the deco but since we started with sweets, we went there for our savoury fix πŸ˜‰

The deco at La Marelle lived up to my expectationsΒ and did not disappoint. I’m a sucker for all things colourful and the place looked so whimsical, I felt so happyΒ even when I spotted it from afar!

 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

 

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The food was not fantastic but I definitely enjoyed my experience there :”) Had a very wonderful time with Liting, talking about anything and everything really and I thank God that I found her in law school ❀

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

 

Leave a Reply

